Indonesian shuttler Anthony Sinisuka Ginting, right, reacts as his Danish opponent Anders Antonsen hit the net during the Indonesia Masters men's singles final at Istora Senayan, Central Jakarta on Sunday. (JG Photo/Yudha Baskoro)

Host Shuttlers Win Three Titles as Anthony Ends Losing Streak


JANUARY 20, 2020

Jakarta. Anthony Sinisuka Ginting claimed his first title in 16 months on Sunday after beating defending champion Anders Antonsen at the Indonesia Masters men’s singles final inside the packed Istora Senayan Indoor Stadium in Jakarta, where host players enjoyed a good weekend by securing three titles.

It was a great relief for Anthony who has lost in five finals last year. He won 17-21 21-15 21-9 after the Dane looked so exhausted and could barely attack in the decider.

"This title means a lot to me because [Indonesia] was in a long drought of men’s singles titles before my era. Now I can prove that we can win this category,” Anthony, whose prior victory came in the China Open in September 2018, told reporters after the match.

He pocketed $30,000 in prize money as the winner while his opponent took around a half of it.

In another Indonesia-Denmark final, Greysia Polii and Apriyati Rahayu outclassed Maiken Fruergaard and Sara Thygesen in thrilling three sets 18-21 21-11 23-21 to win women’s doubles title. The Indonesian pair has now won all seven matches against the Danes.

It was business as usual for Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo as they got the better of compatriots Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan 21-15 21-16 in 32 minutes to score a hat-trick in the home tournament. Both pairs were also finalists in last year’s edition.

In women’s singles, Thai shuttler Ratchanok Intanon defeated Spaniard Carolina Marin 
21-19 11-21 21-18 to clinch her first title since the India Open in March last year.

The mixed doubles final was all-Chinese affairs in which Zheng Si Wei and Huang Ya Qiong took only 25 minutes to beat Wang Yi Lyu and Huang Dong Ping 21-9 21-9.

The Indonesia Masters is a top-tier badminton tournament with a total prize of $400,000.